Skip to Main Content


cub scout image

The Capitol Area Council, Boy Scouts of America

Our council began in 1912 and has grown over time to support Scouting programs in 15 Central Texas counties: Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, DeWitt, Fayette, Gillespie, Gonzales, Hays, Lavaca, Lee, Llano, Mason, Travis and Williamson.

We are not affiliated with the Capital Area Council of Governments; we are neither a governmental agency nor do we receive any direct financial support derived from local or Federal tax dollars.

The Boy Scouts’ vision is to prepare every eligible youth in America to become a responsible, participating citizen and leader who is guided by the Scout Oath and Law. We achieve this through thousands of dedicated, talented volunteers and a small number of professional staff.