Skip to Main Content


About the Capitol Area Council

For more than one hundred years, the Boy Scouts of America has provided programs with a mission of preparing every eligible youth in America to become a responsible, participating citizen and leader who is guided by the Scout Oath and Law. Scouting offers exciting programs designed to inspire, build character, and instill the values boys and girls need to succeed today.

The Capitol Area Council is the local office for the national Boy Scouts organization. We are a nonprofit organization providing support, training, and corporate governance to the programs of the Boy Scouts of America operating within Central Texas. We own and operate seven camping properties as well as the Frank Fickett Scout Training and Service Center. Our council is made up of a few dozen paid professional staff members and thousands of volunteer staff members, all tasked with ensuring you have the resources you need to make Scouting fun and successful in your community.

We partner with schools, PTAs/PTOs, service clubs, local agencies, and more to offer programs in your area for girls and boys ages 6-20 that have been proven to foster and strengthen self-confidence, ethics, respect for others, academic skills, and leadership abilities that stay with them their entire lives.

Our council began in 1912 and has grown over time to support Scouting programs in 15 Central Texas counties: Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, DeWitt, Fayette, Gillespie, Gonzales, Hays, Lavaca, Lee, Llano, Mason, Travis and Williamson.

Our council is divided into areas of local service called “districts.” Districts typically have a geographic boundary mirroring school district attendance boundaries. We have districts to better organize our staff and volunteers to provide the best service possible to our Scouting units.

We are not affiliated with the Capital Area Council of Governments. We are neither a governmental agency nor do we receive any direct financial support derived from local or Federal tax dollars.