Skip to Main Content


What's a District?

The Capitol Area Council (that’s us) serves 15 counties in Central Texas. Within those counties, our council splits up the area into chunks called “districts.” District boundaries usually mirror school district attendance boundaries or county boundaries. The map above shows you (roughly) the district boundaries in our council service area. For a better look, here’s a link to a full page-size map.

Why do we have districts?

15 counties is a lot of ground to cover. We create districts to organize our volunteers and staff to better support your local unit. Put another way: if you had a question to ask, would you rather contact someone you’ve never met or someone you’ve probably seen in your community or at one of the Scouting events near you? By organizing into districts, we can assign a professional staff member to provide direct support to the volunteer leaders who love Scouting everywhere but are most invested in making sure Scouting in your community is strong.

Who in my district can help me and my Scout unit?

Each district has folks serving in the following leadership positions:

  • A District Executive; a salaried Scouting employee whose job is to help grow Scouting in your area, with duties ranging from increasing the number of young people who join to raising money to fund Scouting programs and more.
  • A District Chair; a volunteer who leads a district-wide committee of fellow volunteers and represents your area as a member of our council’s Executive Board
  • A District Commissioner; a volunteer who recruits and manages a team of fellow volunteers called “unit commissioners” who help coach and support individual Scout unit leaders

Together, this group (we call them the “Key 3”) focuses on ways to help your local Scout unit thrive while looking for additional community organizations who might like to start new Scout units.

How do I contact my district leaders?

The following pages have contact information for your district’s leaders, including links to their website or social media (if they have them):

Armadillo District (Central Austin)

Bee Cave District (Eanes ISD and Lake Travis ISD)

Blackland Prairie District (Pflugerville ISD, Taylor ISD, Hutto ISD)

Chisholm Trail District (Round Rock ISD)

Colorado River District (Bastrop, Lee, Fayette Counties)

Hill Country District (Burnet, Blanco, Llano, Gillespie, Mason Counties)

Live Oak District (Caldwell, Gonzales, Lavaca, DeWitt Counties)

North Shore District (Leander ISD, Lago Vista ISD)

Sacred Springs District (Hays County)

San Gabriel District (Georgetown ISD, Jarrell ISD)

Thunderbird District (Southwest Austin)

Waterloo District (East and Southeast Travis County, Manor ISD, Del Valle ISD)


Two Special Districts

We mentioned above that districts are defined by geographical boundaries, like school district attendance zones or county lines. Well, there are a few exceptions.

The Exploring and STEM Scouts programs have “virtual” districts, meaning they serve their respective programs across multiple areas in our council. Here are the contacts for those programs:


District Executive
Corina Zepeda
(512) 831-9262
[email protected]

District Chair
Dr. Richard Rhodes
(915) 497-5850
[email protected]

Service Team Lead
Dennis Eibe
(253) 376-9512
[email protected]


District Executive
Position vacant

District Chair
Jennifer Bennett
(361) 774-5491
[email protected]

Lead Lab Guide
Donovan Allen